I Wish I Were Far From the Madding Crowd

March 19, 2010

Fructose overdose

Went grocery shopping after work today.  After listening to Dr. Lustig’s presentation on fructose (video itself) (see my post, “The toxic effects of … sugar“), I decided to pay a lot more attention to the labels on packages (that is to say, the area labeled as “Nutrition Facts”).

High fructose corn syrup here, high fructose corn syrup there.  Sugar here, sugar there.  What’s this?!  Ooh, I have to buy this!

I had been looking reading the labels on yogurt containers.  Some said “high fructose corn syrup,” some “sugar,” a couple even “fructose.”  Then I found the pièce de résistance!  99% fat free yogurt (with fruit on bottom).  Ingredients: Cultured Grade A low fat milk, fructose syrup, strawberries, sugar, high fructose corn syrup, blueberries, fructose….  23 g of sugars!

I won’t name the brand, but I think no matter which brand you look at you’ll find something similar.

1 Comment

  1. Yep, they all have sugar.

    But check out YoPlus+. It does not have high fructose corn syrup and does have probiotics. Not great, but better than garbage.

    BTW google “crystalized fructose”. That’s even worse than HFCS and they’ve renamed it to disguise it.

    Beware of agave nectar too. Looks like that’s the equivalent of HFCS but being sold as natural. In some cases you can get organic agave nectar.

    I’m trying to use honey or maple syrup when I have to (you need some for bread unless you go sourdough and I’m just not that good yet). If I have to make meringue, I’m going with raw cane sugar. All are the lowest “tech” sweetners there are. Nothing frankenfood about them.

    Comment by mlaiuppa — April 6, 2010 @ 10:17 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Blog at WordPress.com.

